top of page

TXTURE SPOTLIGHT: Vince Fraser, Digital Motion Artist & Illustrator


Vince Fraser is a freelance digital illustrator living in London. He is an innovative artist who successfully incorporates motion into images through several collaborative projects. His afrofuturistic vibe personally spoke to me, and I had the pleasure to talk to Vince about who he is as a creative and a man.

Q: I have had the pleasure of knowing and living with many artists. I know they can keep an unorthodox schedule when they are in the process of creating. I am curious what is your “peak time” for creativity?

A: I am creative all the time. There is rarely a moment when I am not creating in my mind. But if I had to pick a time, it would be after 1:30 in the afternoon to the early evening. I have a family so I have to make time to enjoy them.

What do you want people to take away from your visual storytelling?

I just want them to view it as “creativity.” Not the definition of it, but the possibilities within it. Creativity can be expressed in several ways. There is no limit.

I agree, the statement of creativity is so broad that it can definitely speak to a multitude of people.

What is your professional background?

I worked at a company for a few years in interior design. I just really didn’t like it. You know, it just wasn’t me. It was very, very restrictive and I am a creative person. You know, you just sit in front of a computer and you draw straight lines all day. I just thought to myself, “No, no, no this isn’t me.”

So what was that moment that changed everything?

I’m not quite sure. At the time, it was quite a good job and it was quite hard for me to sort of try and pluck up the courage to leave it and do something on my own. Over time, I basically had enough of it. I thought, I just can’t do this anymore and I started pursuing more graphic work. So, I basically left my job and started doing freelance work. I got my first editorial cover, through a friend of mine. The company I was referred to gave me a brief, and I basically smashed the brief! So they started giving me work every month. I worked for them a number of years doing cover work. It just sort of went from there. Doing a lot of magazine publishing work, as well as advertising and marketing for several major brands.

Your journey definitely gives hope to those creatives who are currently doing the 9-5. It may take a little more time, but things can change.

Yeah definitely, I think as well with social media the way it is at the moment gives artists and creatives a way to showcase their work. I wasn’t really a big fan of social media. Up until a year ago… I started taking it a bit more seriously and started publishing more work. Being a bit more consistent and I started getting more and more of a response. So, I started kicking out project pieces more regularly. I started getting more messages. I got a message from Erykah Badu! She likes my work! I had a quick little conversation with her. That really made my day. She reposted it on her page and it got quite a lot of views. Big Boi from Outkast really likes my work. I did a piece on him and he reposted it.

What are your current projects?

My most recent collaboration has been showcased at “The African Gallery of Contemporary Art” in London. I also did something with South African fashion designer, Trevor Sturman.

Is there a reason for the absence of color in your recent post?

To be honest, I was posting color stuff right at the beginning. I’ve always liked black and white, it provides more of a contrast. When you are working with color it takes away from the purity of the actual image. So, a lot of the time I try to do black and white because what you see is what you get. I do like color too! It’s just my Instagram at the moment.

What is your role in collaborations and what can individuals expect when they collaborate with you?

I’ve started using motion imagery over the last year. I really do like it. I think that is probably my calling and where I want to go in the future. I can contribute to the music industry or something similar. In terms of collaboration, I have worked with quite a few photographers. Mainly black photographers or quite a few people who are involved in promoting African/black culture. The people who I do collaborate with… I’m quite choosy, I have to decide if the project works for what I want to represent.

Vince one more question. What do you want your legacy to be as an artist? And as a man?

Basically, I just want my sons to be really proud of what I’m doing. My youngest son, he is 11, looks at some of my work and he’s like “Dad, how did you come up with this!” He loves it! Just to create a name for myself, and be good at what I do. To keep striving to be better. To keep evolving as an artist and to inspire people as well.

Lucy Sams is a Content Manager with TXTURE Magazine. Whenever she isn't cloud-chasing and trip-taking you can find her moonlighting as a professional Ghostwriter, Copywriter, and Aspiring Author. Explore the many facets of her world at suavexor.com. FB: Suavexor IG: @Suavexor

Video Credit: Courtesy of Ovations TV

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page